Jumpstart!

I was super pumped about getting my Podcasting started in the spring…soo, I started Vodcasting this past week! I felt like my kids, with a little modeling (and a word-of-the-day-script), were ready to take the responsibility and run with it, and they have.

I’ve already had comments from parents that say they’re so happy to be able to see the kids at home. One of the boys went running home and the first thing out of this mouth was ‘mom, you gotta see this.’ He proceeded to turn on the computer, get to the homepage and even BOOKMARKED it on his own. He was showing his family and the guests they had over with immense pride. 

 

Links for all the kiddos!

Links for all the kiddos!

 

 

Pride is the driving force of this project. When I first introduced it (I won’t lie…I was kinda flying from the seat of my pants!) they were glued from the moment I mentioned they would be published on the web! Since then I’ve heard comments about Hollywood calling and they applaud each other after we watch the video in class.

The downside is…I am not able to throw the post right up. It takes me a few (many) minutes to get the video edited and put online. All of the equipment I am using, is my own. I use my laptop, my webpage and my digital camera & tripod. None of these resources are at my fingertips at school so how am I suppose to share this fantastic process with other teachers? Sure, I can send them the link and gloat about how fabulous my kiddos are, but without the same resources available, they can’t begin a process similar to what I’ve done. I thought the point of integration is that it was seamless??!! Guess not!

I will continue to move forward with my project and I will happily share the ideas with my colleagues, but I won’t know what to tell them when they ask for resources!!

 

M,

~ by M² on 2. November 2008.

2 Responses to “Jumpstart!”

  1. I know this is little consolation but probably one of the biggest reasons no one at your school has these resources is because no one has come along and made a case for them yet. I know it sounds a little bit backwards to say, “Get the equipment and use it to prove your case.” Ideally you should have the tools at your disposal. In my experience, things like this are contagious. Soon other teachers will want to do what you are doing but demand the tools from the administration. I have a social studies teacher who complains to me all the time that as soon as she spends her own department budget on a new technology soon the administration is spending technology dollars to purchase it for the the rest of the staff. No one ever reimburses Social Studies for their early adopter role.

    As for making this process more seamless, have you considered a webcam? There are plenty of services out there that help you utilize a webcam to do essentially what you are doing with your digital camera and can produce results instantaneously and publish your content immediately.

    I love your project and I am going to share it with my elementary school teachers this week.

  2. Gotta agree with Carl about the chicken vs. egg situation: which comes first, the tools or the integration? Sometimes it’s the tools. You said it’s about pride, which I think is deeply insightful. Pride of accomplishment (or its sneakier green-eyed cousin envy) may be a significant motivator for your colleagues, too. In the absence of formal supports, they may be motivated by your example to lobby for resources, or even just figure out their own improvised route. You’re asking the right questions and thinking about next steps.

    Sounds like the video editing piece is the biggest challenge, followed by your concerns about carrying the burden of this great project on the backs of your personal equipment and personal website. Which suggests a couple of questions and ideas. As always keeping your learning goals in mind, is there value in having your students gradually take responsibility for the editing tasks? A web-based video editing app like JumpCut (http://www.jumpcut.com/) might ease the load on your laptop, and there are a variety of free video hosting services (TeacherTube, YouTube, Google Video for starters) to consider as possibly-suitable alternatives to hosting on your Mac site. All much more feasible if you can acccess these sites from school, of course, and makes the business of sharing with colleagues more practical, too.

    Would you be interested in sharing this with the group for our November sessions? Hint, hint.

Leave a Reply

 
